New point system after Tokyo?

The time seems ripe for a renewal.

Three years ago, at the annual general meeting of the world federation BWF, the proposal to introduce the counting method 5 x 11 (three winning sets to 11 points in all disciplines) was rejected by the majority of the assembled delegates. Only 129 votes were in favour - 168 votes would have been necessary.


But this year there could be a change. The Indonesian federation PBSI will officially make the proposal to change to 5 x 11. The federation is confident of the support of the continental federation Badminton Asia certainly after the Chinese federation had also gained good experience at the national championships in November 2020. However, 7 x 11 was played there (four winning sets to 11 points).

So it may well be that the 3 x 21 counting method in operation since 1 August 2006 will soon be a thing of the past. The decision will be made on 22 May at the BWF Assembly of Delegates, which, like last year, will only be held virtually.  

The Swiss National League A will be played again this weekend. There, 5 x 11 is already a reality. No spectators are allowed at the matches - but for some games there is live streaming on youtube.com. Check it out!

Friday, 09 April 2021

19:00  Badminton Lausanne Association – BC La Chaux-de-Fonds (Live-Stream)

Saturday, 10 April 2021
14:00  Badminton Lausanne Association – BC Yverdon-les-Bains (Live-Stream)
15:00  Union Tafers-Fribourg – Team Argovia
15:00  BC La Chaux-de-Fonds – BC Uzwil
15:30  BV St.Gallen-Appenzell – BC Zürich

Sunday, 11 April 2021
12:00  BC Uzwil – Union Tafers-Fribourg (Live-Stream)
12:00  BC Yverdon-les-Bains – BV St.Gallen-Appenzell
14:00  Team Argovia – BC La Chaux-de-Fonds (Live-Stream)
14:00  BC Zürich – Badminton Lausanne Association

Play AirBadminton!

Spring is here! Enjoy the fresh air, warm up in the sun's rays and play AirBadminton. The AirShuttles are more wind resistant and durable than normal shuttles. An inexpensive badminton racket with a not too hard stringing is enough to have a lot of fun. You can buy the AirShuttles in almost every sports shop. Have fun!

www.airbadminton.ch
www.airshuttle.ch

clone tag: 8909622506912967069

All England: Japan 4 – Malaysia 1

The players from Japan dominated the tournament in Birmingham this year. The outstanding player was Yuta Watanabe, who was successful in the doubles with Hiroyuki Endo and in the mixed with Arisa Higashino. The women's doubles title went to the pairing of Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara. Japan's Nozomi Okuhara won her second singles title at the YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships after 2016. This failed the Danish Viktor Axelsen. The defending champion had to go three times over three sets until the final and was then exhausted in the third set in the final against Lee Zii Jia from Malaysia. He lost 29-30/22-20/9-21 after an hour and 14 minutes. Lee proved he is a medal candidate at the upcoming Tokyo Olympics by winning the All England title.

www.tournamentsoftware.com

All Japan – Games in Birmingham

The male and female players from Japan dominated this year's YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships.
bwf.tournamentsoftware.com

In the doubles finals it is Japan against Japan three times. Japan's Yuta Watabane is in the doubles and mixed finals. And in the women's singles, Japan's Nozomi Okuhara will meet Thailand's Pornpawee Chochuwong. 

Only in the men's singles final will two non-Japanese players meet: defending champion Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) and Lee Zii Jia (Malaysia).For Viktor it is the third consecutive final appearance, while Lee can succeed Malaysian national hero Lee Chong Wei, who won the tournament in 2017, if he wins. A year ago, the two played each other in the semi-finals and Axelsen won 21-19 in the third set. 

The match starts at 11 a.m. Swiss time. Watch live on www.bwf.tv

Semi-Final Day in Birmingham

This Saturday, starting at 11:00 am Swiss time, the semi-finals of the YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships on the programme.

www.tournamentsoftware.com

After the turbulent start on Wednesday with the Corona-related withdrawal of the Indonesian team, the attention was again on the great matches. In the fourth final, a big surprise with the defeat of world champion Kento Momota (JAP) against the Malaysian Lee Wii Jia. The latter will now meet Dutchman Mark Caljouw, who is in the semi-finals of a Super 1000 tournament for the first time in his career. In the other final, defending champion Viktor Axelsen will meet his compatriot Anders Antonsen. The direct comparison is 3:3. 

In the other semi-finals, defending champion Viktor Axelsen will meet his compatriot Anders Antonsen. The direct comparison is 3:3. In the women's event, two Thai women have made it to the last four. Pornpawee Chochuwong will meet Indian World Champion Sindhu Pusarla V. and Ratchanok Intanon will play Japanese Nozomi Okuhara (re-match from the 2019 World Championships in Basel). 2019 in Basel).


You can watch the tournament live on www.bwf.tv verfolgen.

Corona virus disrupts All England

Difficult start in Birmingham. First, seven players/supervisors tested positive - later the tests were repeated and all were negative. This delayed the start of the tournament by several hours. Then the shock for the Indonesian team: on their flight from Istanbul to Birmingham, one person had tested positive after arrival. Due to the regulations of the National Health Service (NHS) in England, all other passengers have to be quarantined for 10 days. The BWF reacted and took all Indonesian players directly out of the tournament. On Thursday morning, Yigit from Turkey, who had been on the same plane, was also taken out of the tournament. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version) 
The Indonesian federation was appalled by the decision, as all players and coaches had previously been vaccinated in Jakarta.

Due to the late start of the tournament on Wednesday afternoon, Sabrina Jaquet did not play until midnight against Linda Zetchiri. The match went 21:19/21:9 to the Bulgarian.

Badminton is coming home!

Starting on Wednesday 17 March, YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships. The most prestigious tournament in the world (first held in 1899) is being held for the 111th time and was considered an unofficial world championship until 1977. 

Last year, the tournament was the last to be held before the break against the Corona pandemic. This year, most of the world's elite, including world champion Kento Momota, will be back, although the tournament does not count towards Olympic qualification. The players from China and Korea are missing, however, as they are not allowed to leave their home countries because of the pandemic.

From Switzerland, Sabrina Jaquet (BWF 47) is eligible to compete in Birmingham. She will meet Bulgarian Linda Zetchiri (BWF 64) in the first round. So far, the two have met a total of seven times - six of them with the better end for the Bulgarian. 

The tournament will be broadcast live daily on www.bwf.tv only in Switzerland

Link zu All England preview

Favourite wins in Basel

Viktor Axelsen (DEN) and Carolina Marin (ESP) asserted their position as favourites and each won in two sets. Viktor beat the only 19-year-old Thai Kunlavut Vitidsarn (21-16/21-6) and Carolina the Indian Sindhu Pursala V. (21-12/21-5).

While the first sets were still relatively even, the second sets were a show of power.

For Viktor it was the second victory in Basel after 2014.
In the men's doubles, the victory went to the slightly favoured Danes Kim Astrup/ Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (21-16/21-11). Their two German opponents Mark Lamsfuss and Marvin Seidel produced too many own errors from halfway through the second set and could not turn the match around.

A surprise in the women's doubles. Not the two athletic Bulgarians Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva but the young pair from Malaysia prevailed (19-21/12-21). Pearly Tan/Thinaah Muratliharan may look like two 15-year-old teenagers, but they are already 20 and 22 years old and won their first major tournament as outsiders. It was the first ever victory by a Malaysian women's doubles team in the history of the Swiss Open.

In the Mixed, the French pair Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue continued their winning run. They already showed a top performance at the tournaments in Thailand in January, which they crowned in Basel with the final victory over the Danish pairing Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje ((21-19/21-19).

Although no spectators were allowed at the tournament, the matches were followed worldwide on the internet and on TV. Eight nations were represented in the five finals - more than ever before.

The next big tournament will take place in Birmingham in 10 days: the Yonex All England Open Badminton Championships. Can Viktor defend his title from last year there?

Perfect dream finale!

Today, Sunday, the YONEX Swiss Open will see a dream final between reigning world champion Sindhu Pursala V. (IND) and current Olympic champion Carolina Marin (ESP). A rematch of the Rio 2016 final - with slight advantages for Sindhu, who needed 30 minutes less for her victory against Denmark's Blichfeldt in the semi-final than Carolina did against Thailand's Chochuwong.

The first final on Sunday will be contested from 11.00 a.m.  in the mixed Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje (DEN) and Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue (FRA). Alexandra Boje has good memories of the St.Jakobshalle. She became European U15 singles and mixed champion here in 2014.

The next match will be played by the two sisters Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva from Bulgaria. They are the best European women's doubles and their opponents are from Asia, as is often the case. This time it's Pearly Tan/Muraliharan Thinaah from Malaysia.

In the third match on Sunday, Viktor Axelsen (DEN) will play 19-year-old Kunlavut Vitisarn from Thailand. For the Dane, success in tournaments in Switzerland is nothing new. Already in 2008 - as a 14-year-old - he won the individual tournament at the eight-nation tournament U15, held in the sports centre Kerenzerberg (photo). And he is the clear favourite in the final today.

Viktor Axelsen 2008

In the men's doubles, the two Danes Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen and the two Germans Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel will face each other. Although the two Danes lead in the direct comparison with 6:1 - but the last encounter was lost a fortnight ago at the European Mixed Team Championships. 
Last but not least, the already mentioned dream final in the women's singles - world champion against Olympic champion.
Great badminton in Basel.
Enjoy watching at home.

Results and schedule: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV live streaming on SRF: SRF.ch at 11.00 a.m.

Streaming outside Switzerland:
www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Semi-final day in Basel - pure excitement.

Today, Saturday, the semi-finals begin at 11.00 a.m. in the St. Jakobshalle in Basel. 

Three times it is Denmark against India.

Mia Blichfeldt challenges reigning world champion Sindhu Pusarla V. and in the men's event two former Swiss Open winners meet:
Viktor Axelsen (winner 2014) and Srikanth Kidambi (winner 2015).

The Indian world champion has good memories of Switzerland: in 2011 she won the Swiss International in Bern-Belp as a 15-year-old (!) and two years ago she became world champion in Basel.

Carolina Marin (Olympic champion 2016)

Und im Herrendoppel spielen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen gegen Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty. Das spezielle dabei ist, dass die Inder seit kurzem mit Mathias Boe eine dänischen Ex-Weltnummer 1 als Trainer haben.

Only one men's doubles team from Germany made it to the semi-finals. Mark Lamsfuss and Marvin Seidel (BWF 19) will meet the Malaysians Aaron Chia/Wooi Yik Soh (BWF 9), the number one seed. Who will get important points for the Olympic qualification?

Results and schedule: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV live streaming on SRF: www.srf.ch

Streaming outside Switzerland:

www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Neue Zählweise nach Tokyo?

Die Zeit scheint reif für einen Erneuerung.

Vor drei Jahren wurde bei der Jahreshauptversammlung des Weltverbandes BWF der Vorschlag, die Zählweise 5 x 11 (drei Gewinnsätze bis 11 Punkte in allen Disziplinen) einzuführen, von der Mehrheit der versammelten Delegierten abgelehnt. Nur 129 Stimmen waren dafür – nötig gewesen wären aber 168 Stimmen.


Doch in diesem Jahr könnte es zu einem Wechsel kommen. Der indonesische Verband PBSI wird offiziell den Vorschlag machen, auf 5 x 11 zu wechseln. Der Verband ist sich der Unterstützung des Kontinentalverbandes Badminton Asia sicher nachdem auch der chinesische Verband gute Erfahrungen bei den nationalen Meisterschaften im November 2020 gesammelt hatte. Dort wurde aber 7 x 11 gespielt (vier Gewinnsätze bis 11 Punkte).

Es kann also gut sein, dass die seit dem 1. August 2006 geltende Zählweise 3 x 21 bald der Vergangenheit angehört. Der Entscheidung fällt am 22. Mai bei der Delegierten-Versammlung der BWF, die wie schon im letzten Jahr nur virtuell durchgeführt wird.  

In der Schweizer Nationalliga A wird an diesem Wochenende wieder gespielt. Dort ist  5 x 11 schon Realität. Zuschauer sind bei den Matches keine zugelassen – aber bei einigen Spielen gibt es ein Live-Streaming auf youtube.com. Schaut mal rein!

Freitag, 09. April 2021

19:00  Badminton Lausanne Association – BC La Chaux-de-Fonds (Live-Stream)

Samstag, 10. April 2021
14:00  Badminton Lausanne Association – BC Yverdon-les-Bains (Live-Stream)
15:00  Union Tafers-Fribourg – Team Argovia
15:00  BC La Chaux-de-Fonds – BC Uzwil
15:30  BV St.Gallen-Appenzell – BC Zürich

Sonntag, 11. April 2021
12:00  BC Uzwil – Union Tafers-Fribourg (Live-Stream)
12:00  BC Yverdon-les-Bains – BV St.Gallen-Appenzell
14:00  Team Argovia – BC La Chaux-de-Fonds (Live-Stream)
14:00  BC Zürich – Badminton Lausanne Association

Spielen Sie AirBadminton!

Der Frühling ist da! Geniessen Sie die frische Luft, erwärmen sich an den Sonnenstrahlen und spielen AirBadminton. Die AirShuttles sind windresistenter und haltbarer als normale Shuttles. Ein preisgünstiges Badmintonracket mit einer nicht zu harten Besaitung reicht aus um viel Spass zu haben. Die AirShuttles gibt es in fast jedem Sportgeschäft zu kaufen. Viel Spass!

www.airbadminton.ch
www.airshuttle.ch

clone tag: 8909622506912967069

All England: Japan 4 – Malaysia 1

Die SpielerInnen aus Japan dominierten in diesem Jahr das Turnier in Birmingham. Herausragender Spieler war Yuta Watanabe, der im Doppel mit Hiroyuki Endo und im Mixed mit Arisa Higashino erfolgreich war. Der Titel im Damendoppel ging an die Paarung Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara. Die Japanerin Nozomi Okuhara gewann nach 2016 ihren zweiten Titel im Einzel bei den YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships. Dieses misslang dem Dänen Viktor Axelsen. Bis zum Finale musste der Titelverteidiger dreimal über drei Sätze gehen und war dann im Endspiel gegen den Malaien Lee Zii Jia im dritten Satz ausgepowert. Er verlor nach einer Stunde und 14 Minuten mit 29-30/22-20/9-21. Lee hat mit dem Titelgewinn bei den All England bewiesen, dass er ein Medaillen-Kandidat bei den kommenden Olympischen Spielen in Tokio ist.

www.tournamentsoftware.com

All Japan – Games in Birmingham

Die Spieler und Spielerinnen aus Japan dominierten in diesem Jahr die YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships.
bwf.tournamentsoftware.com

In den Doppelfinals heisst es dreimal Japan gegen Japan. Der Japaner Yuta Watabane ist im Doppel und im Mixed im Finale. Und im Dameneinzel trifft die Japanerin Nozomi Okuhara auf die Thailändern Pornpawee Chochuwong. 

Lediglich im Finale des Herreneinzel treffen zwei Nicht-Japaner aufeinander: Titelverteidiger Viktor Axelsen (Dänemark) und Lee Zii Jia (Malaysia).Für Viktor ist es die dritte Finalteilnahme in Folge, während Lee bei einem Sieg Nachfolger von dem malaiischen Nationalhelden Lee Chong Wei, der das Turnier 2017 gewann, werden kann. Vor einem Jahr spielten die beiden im Halbfinale gegeneinander und Axelsen gewann im dritten Satz mit 21:19. 

Spielbeginn ist um 11 Uhr Schweizer Zeit. Live zu sehen auf www.bwf.tv

Halbfinaltag in Birmingham

Am heutigen Samstag stehen ab 11:00 Uhr Schweizer Zeit die Halbfinale der YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships auf dem Programm.

www.tournamentsoftware.com

Nach dem turbulentem Beginn am Mittwoch mit dem Corona-bedingtem Rückzug des indonesischen Teams lag die Aufmerksamkeit wieder auf den tollen Matches. Im Viertefinale eine grosse Überraschung mit der Niederlage von Weltmeister Kento Momota (JAP) gegen den Malaien Lee Wii Jia. Dieser trifft nun auf den Niederländer Mark Caljouw, der erstmals in seiner Karriere in einem Halbfinale eines Super 1000-Turniers steht. 

Im anderen Finale trifft Titelverteidiger Viktor Axelsen auf seinen Landsmann Anders Antonsen. Im direkten Vergleich steht es 3:3. Bei den Damen haben es zwei Thailänderinnen unter die letzten Vier geschafft. Pornpawee Chochuwong trifft auf die indische Weltmeisterin Sindhu Pusarla V. und Ratchanok Intanon auf die Japanerin Nozomi Okuhara (Re-Match von der WM 2019 in Basel).


Das Turnier kann man live auf www.bwf.tv verfolgen.

Corona-Virus stört All England

Schwieriger Start in Birmingham. Zuerst wurden sieben Spieler/Betreuer positiv getestet – später wurden die Tests wiederholt und alle waren negativ. Dadurch verzögerte sich der Beginn des Turnier um mehrere Stunden. Dann der Schock für das indonesische Team: auf ihrem Flug von Istanbul nach Birmingham war eine Person nach Ankunft positiv getestet worden. Aufgrund der Bestimmungen des National Health Service (NHS) in England müssen alle anderen Passagiere für 10 Tage in Quarantäne. Die BWF reagierte und nahm alle indonesischen SpielerInnen direkt aus dem Turnier heraus. Am Donnerstagmorgen wurde auch die Türkin Yigit, die im gleichen Flugzeug gesessen hatte, aus dem Turnier genommen. 
Der indonesische Verband war entsetzt über die Entscheidung, da alle Spieler und Betreuer zuvor in Jakarta geimpft worden waren.

Aufgrund des späten Turnierstarts am Mittwochnachmittag spielte Sabrina Jaquet erst um Mitternacht gegen Linda Zetchiri. Das Spiel ging mit 21:19/21:9 an die Bulgarin.

Badminton is coming home!

Am Mittwoch 17. März beginnen die YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships. Das prestigereichste Turnier der Welt (Erstaustragung war im Jahre 1899) wird zum 111. Mal ausgetragen und galt bis zum Jahre 1977 als inoffizielle Weltmeisterschaft. 

Das Turnier war im vergangenen Jahr das letzte Turnier, das vor der Turnierpause gegen den Corona-Pandemie noch ausgetragen wurde.In diesem Jahr ist ein Grossteil die Weltelite inkl. Weltmeister Kento Momota wieder am Start obwohl das Turnier nicht für die Olympiaqualifikation zählt. Es fehlen aber die Spieler aus China und Korea, die wegen der Pandemie aus ihrer Heimat nicht ausreisen dürfen.

Aus der Schweiz ist Sabrina Jaquet (BWF 47) in Birmingham startberechtigt. Sie trifft in der ersten Runde auf die Bulgarin Linda Zetchiri (BWF 64). Bislang trafen die beiden insgesamt sieben Mal auf einander – davon sechs Mal mit dem besseren Ende für die Bulgarin. 

Das Turnier gibt es an allen Tagen live auf www.bwf.tv zu sehen.

Link zu All England preview

Favoriten-Siege in Basel

Viktor Axelsen (DEN) und Carolina Marin (ESP) behaupteten ihre Favoritenstellung und gewann jeweils in zwei Sätzen. Viktor schlug den erst 19-jährigen Thailänder Kunlavut Vitidsarn (21-16/21-6) und Carolina die Inderin Sindhu Pursala V. (21-12/21-5).

Während die ersten Sätze noch relativ ausgeglichen waren, waren die zweiten Sätze eine Machtdemonstrationen.

Für Viktor war es nach 2014 der zweite Sieg in Basel.
Im Herrendoppel ging der Sieg an die leicht favorisierten Dänen Kim Astrup/ Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (21-16/21-11). Ihre beiden deutschen Gegner Mark Lamsfuss und Marvin Seidel produzieren ab der Hälfte des zweiten Satz zu viele Eigenfehler und konnten das Match nicht mehr drehen.

Ein Überraschung im Damendoppel. Nicht die beiden athletischen Bulgarinnen Gabriela und Stefani Stoeva sondern die junge Paarung aus Malaysia setzte sich durch (19-21/12-21). Pearly Tan/ Thinaah Muratliharan sehen zwar aus wie zwei 15-jährige Teenager, sind aber schon 20 bzw. 22 Jahre alt und gewannen als Aussenseiter ihr erstes grosses Turnier. Es war der erste Sieg eines malaiischen Damendoppels in der Geschichte der Swiss Open überhaupt.

Im Mixed setzen die beiden Franzosen Thom Gicquel/ Delphine Delrue ihren Siegeslauf fort. Schon bei den Turnieren in Thailand im Januar zeigten sie eine Top-Leistung, die sie in Basel mit dem Finalsieg über die dänische Paarung Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje krönten ((21-19/21-19).

Zwar durften bei dem Turnier keine Zuschauer anwesend sein, doch die Matches wurden weltweit im Internet und im TV verfolgt. Acht Nationen waren in den fünf Finals vertreten – so viele wie noch nie.

Das nächste grosse Turnier findet in 10 Tagen in Birmingham statt: die Yonex All England Open Badminton Championships. Kann Viktor dort seinen Titel aus dem Vorjahr verteidigen?

Traumfinale perfekt!

Am heutigen Sonntag kommt es bei den YONEX Swiss Open zum Traumfinale zwischen der amtierenden Weltmeisterin Sindhu Pursala V. (IND) und der aktuellen Olympiasiegerin Carolina Marin (ESP). Eine Neuauflage des Finales von Rio 2016 – mit leichten Vorteilen für Sindhu, die für ihren Sieg gegen die Dänin Blichfeldt im Halbfinale 30 Minuten weniger brauchte als Carolina gegen die Thailänderin Chochuwong.

Das erste Finale am Sonntag bestreiten ab 11.00 Uhr  im Mixed Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje (DEN) und Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue (FRA). Alexandra Boje hat gute Erinnerungen an die St.Jakobshalle. Hier wurde sie im Jahre 2014 U15-Europameisterin im Einzel und im Mixed.

Das nächste Match bestreiten die beiden Schwestern Gabriela und Stefani Stoeva aus Bulgarien. Sie sind das beste Europäsche Damendoppel und ihre Gegnerinnen kommen wie so oft aus Asien. Diesmal sind es Pearly Tan/Muraliharan Thinaah aus Malaysia.

Im dritten Match vom Sonntag trifft Viktor Axelsen (DEN) auf den erst 19-jährigen Kunlavut Vitisarn aus Thailand. Für den Dänen sind Erfolge bei Turnieren in der Schweiz nichts Neues. Bereits im Jahre 2008 – als 14-jähriger – gewann er das Individual-Turnier beim Acht-Nationen-Turnier U15, ausgetragen im Sportzentrum Kerenzerberg (Photo). Und im Finale ist er heute klarer Favorit.

Viktor Axelsen 2008

Im Herrendoppel stehen sich die beiden Dänen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen und die beiden Deutschen Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel gegenüber.Zwar führen die beiden Dänen im direkten Vergleich mit 6:1 – aber die letzte Begegnung wurde vor zwei Wochen bei der Mixed-Team EM verloren. 
Last but not least das schon erwähnte Traumfinale im Dameneinzel – Weltmeisterin gegen Olympiasiegerin.
Tolles Badminton in Basel.
Viel Spass beim Zuschauen zu Hause.

Resultate und Zeitplan: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV-Livestreaming auf SRF.ch am 11.00 Uhr

Streaming ausserhalb der Schweiz:
www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Halbfinaltag in Basel – Spannung pur.

Am heutigen Samstag beginnen in der Basler St. Jakobshalle um 11.00 Uhr die Halbfinalspiele. 

Dreimal heisst es Dänemark gegen Indien.

Mia Blichfeldt fordert die amtierende Weltmeisterin Sindhu Pusarla V. heraus und bei den Herren treffen zwei ehemalige Swiss Open-Sieger auf einander:
Viktor Axelsen (Sieger 2014) und Srikanth Kidambi (Sieger 2015).

Die indische Weltmeisterin hat gute Erinnerungen an die Schweiz: im Jahre 2011 gewann sie als 15-jährige (!) die Swiss International in Bern-Belp und vor zwei Jahren wurde sie in Basel Weltmeisterin.

Carolina Marin (Olympiasiegerin 2016)

Und im Herrendoppel spielen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen gegen Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty. Das spezielle dabei ist, dass die Inder seit kurzem mit Mathias Boe eine dänischen Ex-Weltnummer 1 als Trainer haben.

Aus Deutschland hat sich nur ein Herrendoppel ins Halbfinale spielen können. Mark Lamsfuss und Marvin Seidel (BWF 19) treffen auf die an Nummer 1 gesetzten Malaien Aaron Chia/ Wooi Yik Soh (BWF 9). Wer holt wichtige Punkte für die Olympia-Qualifikation?

Resultate und Zeitplan: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV-Livestreaming auf SRF: www.srf.ch

Streaming ausserhalb der Schweiz:

www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de