Badminton is coming home!

Starting on Wednesday 17 March, YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships. The most prestigious tournament in the world (first held in 1899) is being held for the 111th time and was considered an unofficial world championship until 1977. 

Last year, the tournament was the last to be held before the break against the Corona pandemic. This year, most of the world's elite, including world champion Kento Momota, will be back, although the tournament does not count towards Olympic qualification. The players from China and Korea are missing, however, as they are not allowed to leave their home countries because of the pandemic.

From Switzerland, Sabrina Jaquet (BWF 47) is eligible to compete in Birmingham. She will meet Bulgarian Linda Zetchiri (BWF 64) in the first round. So far, the two have met a total of seven times - six of them with the better end for the Bulgarian. 

The tournament will be broadcast live daily on www.bwf.tv only in Switzerland

Link zu All England preview

Favourite wins in Basel

Viktor Axelsen (DEN) and Carolina Marin (ESP) asserted their position as favourites and each won in two sets. Viktor beat the only 19-year-old Thai Kunlavut Vitidsarn (21-16/21-6) and Carolina the Indian Sindhu Pursala V. (21-12/21-5).

While the first sets were still relatively even, the second sets were a show of power.

For Viktor it was the second victory in Basel after 2014.
In the men's doubles, the victory went to the slightly favoured Danes Kim Astrup/ Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (21-16/21-11). Their two German opponents Mark Lamsfuss and Marvin Seidel produced too many own errors from halfway through the second set and could not turn the match around.

A surprise in the women's doubles. Not the two athletic Bulgarians Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva but the young pair from Malaysia prevailed (19-21/12-21). Pearly Tan/Thinaah Muratliharan may look like two 15-year-old teenagers, but they are already 20 and 22 years old and won their first major tournament as outsiders. It was the first ever victory by a Malaysian women's doubles team in the history of the Swiss Open.

In the Mixed, the French pair Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue continued their winning run. They already showed a top performance at the tournaments in Thailand in January, which they crowned in Basel with the final victory over the Danish pairing Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje ((21-19/21-19).

Although no spectators were allowed at the tournament, the matches were followed worldwide on the internet and on TV. Eight nations were represented in the five finals - more than ever before.

The next big tournament will take place in Birmingham in 10 days: the Yonex All England Open Badminton Championships. Can Viktor defend his title from last year there?

Perfect dream finale!

Today, Sunday, the YONEX Swiss Open will see a dream final between reigning world champion Sindhu Pursala V. (IND) and current Olympic champion Carolina Marin (ESP). A rematch of the Rio 2016 final - with slight advantages for Sindhu, who needed 30 minutes less for her victory against Denmark's Blichfeldt in the semi-final than Carolina did against Thailand's Chochuwong.

The first final on Sunday will be contested from 11.00 a.m.  in the mixed Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje (DEN) and Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue (FRA). Alexandra Boje has good memories of the St.Jakobshalle. She became European U15 singles and mixed champion here in 2014.

The next match will be played by the two sisters Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva from Bulgaria. They are the best European women's doubles and their opponents are from Asia, as is often the case. This time it's Pearly Tan/Muraliharan Thinaah from Malaysia.

In the third match on Sunday, Viktor Axelsen (DEN) will play 19-year-old Kunlavut Vitisarn from Thailand. For the Dane, success in tournaments in Switzerland is nothing new. Already in 2008 - as a 14-year-old - he won the individual tournament at the eight-nation tournament U15, held in the sports centre Kerenzerberg (photo). And he is the clear favourite in the final today.

Viktor Axelsen 2008

In the men's doubles, the two Danes Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen and the two Germans Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel will face each other. Although the two Danes lead in the direct comparison with 6:1 - but the last encounter was lost a fortnight ago at the European Mixed Team Championships. 
Last but not least, the already mentioned dream final in the women's singles - world champion against Olympic champion.
Great badminton in Basel.
Enjoy watching at home.

Results and schedule: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV live streaming on SRF: SRF.ch at 11.00 a.m.

Streaming outside Switzerland:
www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Semi-final day in Basel - pure excitement.

Today, Saturday, the semi-finals begin at 11.00 a.m. in the St. Jakobshalle in Basel. 

Three times it is Denmark against India.

Mia Blichfeldt challenges reigning world champion Sindhu Pusarla V. and in the men's event two former Swiss Open winners meet:
Viktor Axelsen (winner 2014) and Srikanth Kidambi (winner 2015).

The Indian world champion has good memories of Switzerland: in 2011 she won the Swiss International in Bern-Belp as a 15-year-old (!) and two years ago she became world champion in Basel.

Carolina Marin (Olympic champion 2016)

Und im Herrendoppel spielen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen gegen Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty. Das spezielle dabei ist, dass die Inder seit kurzem mit Mathias Boe eine dänischen Ex-Weltnummer 1 als Trainer haben.

Only one men's doubles team from Germany made it to the semi-finals. Mark Lamsfuss and Marvin Seidel (BWF 19) will meet the Malaysians Aaron Chia/Wooi Yik Soh (BWF 9), the number one seed. Who will get important points for the Olympic qualification?

Results and schedule: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV live streaming on SRF: www.srf.ch

Streaming outside Switzerland:

www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Yonex Swiss Open 2021

One against seven!

Today Friday is quarterfinal day in Basel. In the men's singles Viktor Axelsen (DEN) is the last European in the tableau - the other cracks come from India (3) Thailand (2) and one player each from Malaysia and Indonesia. Viktor's opponent is also from there: Shesar Hiren Rhustavito. He is currently number three in Indonesia and a serious opponent. Who will make it to the semifinals?

Viktor Axelsen (BWF World ranking no.2)

Directly ahead of them will be the match between current Olympic champion Carolina Marin (ESP) and Beiwen Zhang (USA). Half a year ago, the Spaniard won in three sets. And today?

The tournament begins at 2 p.m. and is live on swiss-sport.tv only in Switzerland

Schedule/ Results: www.tournamentsoftware.com

All Swiss eliminated

On the 2nd day of the tournament, the Swiss cracks were eliminated. Christian Kirchmayr and Sabrina Jaquet in the singles and the two doubles Yann Orteu/ Minh Quang Pham and Caroline Racloz/Jenjira Stadelmann showed good performances, but it was not enough to reach the second round.

The tournament favourites like Viktor Axelsen (DEN) or Carolina Marin (ESP) and Sindhu Pusarla (IND) had no problems in their opening matches.
The official Yonex stringing service also showed a top performance so far. During the first three days, almost 300 rackets were strung. The stringing hardness varied between 13 and 16 kg - far too much for the normal badminton player. The players had the choice between several different strings. The following strings were requested most often: Aerobite/ BG 80 Power/ BG 80/ BG 65 Ti/ BG 66 Ultimax.

You can watch the tournament live on www.swiss-sport.tv The channel shows all matches from all four courts.

Yann/ Aline miss the sensation

They narrowly won the first set, led 7:1 in the second - and still lost. The difference in class only then became visible and the German pairing of Jones Ralf Jansen/Kilasu Ostermeyer then showed their international class and clearly dominated the match in the end.

On Tuesday, more Swiss players will be in action at 09.00. There is livestreaming from all four courts.

Swiss Open 2021 (live)

Follow the YONEX Swiss Open and win!

Guess the number of nations represented in the five finals on Sunday 7 March.

Send the number of nations together with your telephone number by e-mail to info@yonex.ch and win a private training session or a sparring match with a top coach or top player of your choice. You can choose from Anthony Dumartheray/ Yverdon (umpteen times Swiss champion), Andrew Dabeka/ Zurich (Canadian top coach and participant in the Olympic Games), Azmy Qowimuramadhoni/ Bern (Indonesian top player), Caroline Racloz/ Lausanne (Swiss national player).

Closing date is Thursday 4 March at 11.59 p.m.

Yonex Swiss Open 2021

We are ready. On Friday, the tournament lighting, the hall floor and the courts were laid out, followed by the installation of the Yonex stringing service on Sunday. On Monday and Tuesday morning there is still the possibility to practice in the hall before the tournament starts on Tuesday afternoon.

The results are available here: CLICK HERE

Yonex Swiss Open: Preparations are in full swing

In a few days the time has come - the Yonex Swiss Open 2021 will begin. Today, Friday, a special indoor floor and the competition and practice courts will be laid so that the players can already practice on Monday. The tournament is expected to start on Tuesday afternoon with the mixed.

Insgesamt 600 Badminton-Cracks aus 50 Nationen hatten sich angemeldet, ’nur› rund 250 werden am dem Turnier teilnehmen können. Der Anlass kann nur dank 100 Freiwilligen, die sich eine ganze Woche in den Turnier-Bubble (Hotel-Transport-Halle) begeben, stattfinden. 

Unfortunately, due to the Covid protection measures, no spectators will be allowed to attend the event. There may be several hours of streaming TV on SRF on Friday, but certainly on the weekend, of the semi-finals and all the finals (each from 11 am). On Sunday with live commentary from the hall. The exact times can be found in the media and on the SwissOpen homepage (www.swissopen.com).

The results are available here: Click here

Badminton is coming home!

Am Mittwoch 17. März beginnen die YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships. Das prestigereichste Turnier der Welt (Erstaustragung war im Jahre 1899) wird zum 111. Mal ausgetragen und galt bis zum Jahre 1977 als inoffizielle Weltmeisterschaft. 

Das Turnier war im vergangenen Jahr das letzte Turnier, das vor der Turnierpause gegen den Corona-Pandemie noch ausgetragen wurde.In diesem Jahr ist ein Grossteil die Weltelite inkl. Weltmeister Kento Momota wieder am Start obwohl das Turnier nicht für die Olympiaqualifikation zählt. Es fehlen aber die Spieler aus China und Korea, die wegen der Pandemie aus ihrer Heimat nicht ausreisen dürfen.

Aus der Schweiz ist Sabrina Jaquet (BWF 47) in Birmingham startberechtigt. Sie trifft in der ersten Runde auf die Bulgarin Linda Zetchiri (BWF 64). Bislang trafen die beiden insgesamt sieben Mal auf einander – davon sechs Mal mit dem besseren Ende für die Bulgarin. 

Das Turnier gibt es an allen Tagen live auf www.bwf.tv zu sehen.

Link zu All England preview

Favoriten-Siege in Basel

Viktor Axelsen (DEN) und Carolina Marin (ESP) behaupteten ihre Favoritenstellung und gewann jeweils in zwei Sätzen. Viktor schlug den erst 19-jährigen Thailänder Kunlavut Vitidsarn (21-16/21-6) und Carolina die Inderin Sindhu Pursala V. (21-12/21-5).

Während die ersten Sätze noch relativ ausgeglichen waren, waren die zweiten Sätze eine Machtdemonstrationen.

Für Viktor war es nach 2014 der zweite Sieg in Basel.
Im Herrendoppel ging der Sieg an die leicht favorisierten Dänen Kim Astrup/ Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (21-16/21-11). Ihre beiden deutschen Gegner Mark Lamsfuss und Marvin Seidel produzieren ab der Hälfte des zweiten Satz zu viele Eigenfehler und konnten das Match nicht mehr drehen.

Ein Überraschung im Damendoppel. Nicht die beiden athletischen Bulgarinnen Gabriela und Stefani Stoeva sondern die junge Paarung aus Malaysia setzte sich durch (19-21/12-21). Pearly Tan/ Thinaah Muratliharan sehen zwar aus wie zwei 15-jährige Teenager, sind aber schon 20 bzw. 22 Jahre alt und gewannen als Aussenseiter ihr erstes grosses Turnier. Es war der erste Sieg eines malaiischen Damendoppels in der Geschichte der Swiss Open überhaupt.

Im Mixed setzen die beiden Franzosen Thom Gicquel/ Delphine Delrue ihren Siegeslauf fort. Schon bei den Turnieren in Thailand im Januar zeigten sie eine Top-Leistung, die sie in Basel mit dem Finalsieg über die dänische Paarung Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje krönten ((21-19/21-19).

Zwar durften bei dem Turnier keine Zuschauer anwesend sein, doch die Matches wurden weltweit im Internet und im TV verfolgt. Acht Nationen waren in den fünf Finals vertreten – so viele wie noch nie.

Das nächste grosse Turnier findet in 10 Tagen in Birmingham statt: die Yonex All England Open Badminton Championships. Kann Viktor dort seinen Titel aus dem Vorjahr verteidigen?

Traumfinale perfekt!

Am heutigen Sonntag kommt es bei den YONEX Swiss Open zum Traumfinale zwischen der amtierenden Weltmeisterin Sindhu Pursala V. (IND) und der aktuellen Olympiasiegerin Carolina Marin (ESP). Eine Neuauflage des Finales von Rio 2016 – mit leichten Vorteilen für Sindhu, die für ihren Sieg gegen die Dänin Blichfeldt im Halbfinale 30 Minuten weniger brauchte als Carolina gegen die Thailänderin Chochuwong.

Das erste Finale am Sonntag bestreiten ab 11.00 Uhr  im Mixed Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje (DEN) und Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue (FRA). Alexandra Boje hat gute Erinnerungen an die St.Jakobshalle. Hier wurde sie im Jahre 2014 U15-Europameisterin im Einzel und im Mixed.

Das nächste Match bestreiten die beiden Schwestern Gabriela und Stefani Stoeva aus Bulgarien. Sie sind das beste Europäsche Damendoppel und ihre Gegnerinnen kommen wie so oft aus Asien. Diesmal sind es Pearly Tan/Muraliharan Thinaah aus Malaysia.

Im dritten Match vom Sonntag trifft Viktor Axelsen (DEN) auf den erst 19-jährigen Kunlavut Vitisarn aus Thailand. Für den Dänen sind Erfolge bei Turnieren in der Schweiz nichts Neues. Bereits im Jahre 2008 – als 14-jähriger – gewann er das Individual-Turnier beim Acht-Nationen-Turnier U15, ausgetragen im Sportzentrum Kerenzerberg (Photo). Und im Finale ist er heute klarer Favorit.

Viktor Axelsen 2008

Im Herrendoppel stehen sich die beiden Dänen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen und die beiden Deutschen Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel gegenüber.Zwar führen die beiden Dänen im direkten Vergleich mit 6:1 – aber die letzte Begegnung wurde vor zwei Wochen bei der Mixed-Team EM verloren. 
Last but not least das schon erwähnte Traumfinale im Dameneinzel – Weltmeisterin gegen Olympiasiegerin.
Tolles Badminton in Basel.
Viel Spass beim Zuschauen zu Hause.

Resultate und Zeitplan: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV-Livestreaming auf SRF.ch am 11.00 Uhr

Streaming ausserhalb der Schweiz:
www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Halbfinaltag in Basel – Spannung pur.

Am heutigen Samstag beginnen in der Basler St. Jakobshalle um 11.00 Uhr die Halbfinalspiele. 

Dreimal heisst es Dänemark gegen Indien.

Mia Blichfeldt fordert die amtierende Weltmeisterin Sindhu Pusarla V. heraus und bei den Herren treffen zwei ehemalige Swiss Open-Sieger auf einander:
Viktor Axelsen (Sieger 2014) und Srikanth Kidambi (Sieger 2015).

Die indische Weltmeisterin hat gute Erinnerungen an die Schweiz: im Jahre 2011 gewann sie als 15-jährige (!) die Swiss International in Bern-Belp und vor zwei Jahren wurde sie in Basel Weltmeisterin.

Carolina Marin (Olympiasiegerin 2016)

Und im Herrendoppel spielen Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen gegen Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty. Das spezielle dabei ist, dass die Inder seit kurzem mit Mathias Boe eine dänischen Ex-Weltnummer 1 als Trainer haben.

Aus Deutschland hat sich nur ein Herrendoppel ins Halbfinale spielen können. Mark Lamsfuss und Marvin Seidel (BWF 19) treffen auf die an Nummer 1 gesetzten Malaien Aaron Chia/ Wooi Yik Soh (BWF 9). Wer holt wichtige Punkte für die Olympia-Qualifikation?

Resultate und Zeitplan: www.tournamentsoftware.com

TV-Livestreaming auf SRF: www.srf.ch

Streaming ausserhalb der Schweiz:

www.badmintonworld.tv
www.sportdeutschland.de

Yonex Swiss Open 2021

Einer gegen sieben!

Heute Freitag ist Viertelfinaltag in Basel. Im Herreneinzel ist Viktor Axelsen (DEN) der letzte Europäer im Tableau – die anderen Cracks kommen aus Indien (3) Thailand (2) und je einem Spieler aus Malaysia und Indonesien. Vor dort kommt auch der Gegner von Viktor: Shesar Hiren Rhustavito. Er ist zur Zeit die Nummer drei in Indonesien und ein ernstzunehmender Gegner. Wer schafft den Sprung ins Halbfinale?

Viktor Axelsen (BWF World ranking no.2)

Direkt vor den beiden findet das Match zwischen der aktuellen Olympiasiegerin Carolina Marin (ESP) und Beiwen Zhang (USA) statt. Vor einem halben Jahr gewann die Spanierin in drei Sätzen. Und heute?

Das Turnier beginnt um 14 Uhr und ist live auf swiss-sport.tv zu sehen.

Zeitplan/ Resultate: www.tournamentsoftware.com

Alle Schweizer ausgeschieden

Am 2. Turniertag schieden die Schweizer Cracks aus. Christian Kirchmayr und Sabrina Jaquet im Einzel und die beiden Doppel Yann Orteu/ Minh Quang Pham bzw. Caroline Racloz/Jenjira Stadelmann zeigten zwar gute Leistungen, doch für das Erreichen der 2. Runde lange es nicht.

Die Turnier-Favoriten wie Viktor Axelsen (DEN) oder Carolina Marin (ESP) und Sindhu Pusarla (IND) hatten keine Probleme in ihren Auftaktmatches.
Ebenfalls eine Top-Leistung zeigte bisher der offizielle Yonex Stringing-Service. An den ersten drei Tagen wurden fast 300 Rackets besaitet. Die Besaitungshärte schwankte zwischen 13 und 16 kg – für den normalen Badmintonspieler viel zu viel. Die Spieler hatten die Wahl zwischen mehreren verschiedenen Saiten. Die folgenden Saiten wurden am häufigsten verlangt: Aerobite/ BG 80 Power/ BG 80/ BG 65 Ti/ BG 66 Ultimax.

Das Turnier kann man live auf www.swiss-sport.tv verfolgen. Der Sender zeigt alle Matches von allen vier Courts.

Yann/ Aline verpassen Sensation

Den ersten Satz knapp gewonnen, im zweiten 7:1 geführt – und doch verloren. Der Klassenunterschied wurde erst dann sichtbar und die deutsche Paarung Jones Ralf Jansen/Kilasu Ostermeyer zeigte dann ihre internationale Klasse und dominierte das Match am Ende klar.

Am Dienstag sind weitere Schweizer am 09.00 Uhr im Einsatz. Es gibt ein Livestreaming von allen vier Courts.

Swiss Open 2021 (live)

Verfolgen Sie die YONEX Swiss Open und gewinnen Sie!

Tippen Sie die Anzahl der Nationen, die in den fünf Finalspielen am Sonntag 7. März vertreten sind.

Schicken Sie die Anzahl der Nationen zusammen mit ihrer Telefonnummer per E-mail an info@yonex.ch und gewinnen Sie ein Privattraining oder ein Sparring-Match mit einem Top-Trainer oder Top-Spieler nach Wahl. Zur Auswahl stehen Anthony Dumartheray/ Yverdon (zigfacher Schweizermeister), Andrew Dabeka/ Zürich (kanadischer Top-Trainer und Teilnehmer den den OlympischeSpielen), Azmy Qowimuramadhoni/ Bern (indonesischer Spitzenspieler), Caroline Racloz/ Lausanne (Schweizer Nationalspielerin)

Teilnahmeschluss ist Donnerstag 4. März um 23.59 Uhr

Yonex Swiss Open 2021

Wir sind bereit. Am Freitag wurden die Turnierbeleuchtung, der Hallenboden und die Courts ausgelegt, am Sonntag folgte dann der Aufbau des Yonex Stringing-Service. Am Montag und am Dienstagvormittag gibt es noch die Möglichkeit, in der Halle zu trainieren bevor das Turnier am Dienstagnachmittag beginnt.

Die Resultate gibt es hier: HIER KLICKEN

Yonex Swiss Open: Die Vorbereitungen laufen auf Hochtouren

In wenigen Tagen ist es soweit – die Yonex Swiss Open 2021 beginnen. Am heutigen Freitag werden ein spezieller Hallenboden sowie die Wettkampf- und Trainings-Courts gelegt, damit die Spieler schon am Montag trainieren können. Turnierbeginn ist voraussichtlich am Dienstagnachmittag mit dem Mixed.

Insgesamt 600 Badminton-Cracks aus 50 Nationen hatten sich angemeldet, ‘nur’ rund 250 werden am dem Turnier teilnehmen können. Der Anlass kann nur dank 100 Freiwilligen, die sich eine ganze Woche in den Turnier-Bubble (Hotel-Transport-Halle) begeben, stattfinden. 

Leider dürfen wegen den Covid-Schutzmassnahmen keine ZuschauerInnen den Anlass besuchen. Eventuell wird es am am Freitag, aber sicher am Wochenende von den Halbfinal- und allen Finalspielen (jeweils ab 11 Uhr) mehrere Stunden Streaming-TV-Präsenz auf SRF geben. Am Sonntag mit Live-Kommentar aus der Halle. Die genauen Zeiten kann man den Medien und der SwissOpen-Homepage (www.swissopen.com) entnehmen.

Die Resultate gibt es hier: Hier klicken